Savvy, by Ingrid Law

When my brother Fish turned thirteen, we moved to the deepest part of inland because of the hurricane and, of course, the fact that he’d caused it.
-Ingrid Law, Savvy

I had liked living down south on the edge of land, next to the pushing-pulling waves. I had liked it with a mighty kind of liking….
-Ingrid Law, Savvy

Pink light filtered through the curtains of the house, filling the hallway between the bedrooms with the faint blush of morning. I was careful not to make too much noise as I stole past the other rooms and slipped downstairs, not wanting to wake anybody else up just yet, wanting more time to myself to see what I could see, feel what I could feel.
-Ingrid Law, Savvy

Sitting back down next to me on the steps in the water, Bobbi sighed. “Mibs, do you ever feel like your life is just some weird dream and someday you’ll wake up and find that you’re someone else entirely?”
-Ingrid Law, Savvy

Just before she fell asleep, Lill sighed. “You never can tell when a bad thing might make a good thing happen,” she said quietly….
-Ingrid Law, Savvy

We'd love to hear from you! Say something here:

